Skip to product information
1 of 1

Merzbow - Merzbird - CD

Merzbow - Merzbird - CD

Regular price $11.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $11.99 USD
Sale Sold out

Masami Akita, aka Merzbow, is one of the most influential and provocative figures in modern electronic composition. He has been hailed as the king of Japanese noise and has toured, collaborated and released stunning albums around the world for over 20 years. In 2002 he broke out of the underground with the release of his first beat oriented material. Titled Merzbeat, he won over new fans with his noise based approach to beat based composition.

Merzbird is Merzbow's follow up to 2003s successful beat oriented record Merzbeat. With the same reverence for crushing analog beats and weaving noise textures and a compositional complexity, Masami Akita brings Merzbeat and Merzbow into the future, advancing concepts, with Merzbird.

Even if this record didn't totally rule, you'd have to have it for the Norwegian Black Metal styled woodland photograph of Masami Akita spread wide across the gatefold. A classic.


1. BLack Swan

2. Mandarin Duck

3. Emu

4. Victoria Crowned Pigeon

5. White Peafowl

6. Brown Pelican

View full details