Skip to product information
1 of 1

The Birds - Birds Birds Birds In the World - CD

The Birds - Birds Birds Birds In the World - CD

Regular price $11.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $11.99 USD
Sale Sold out

The first 1000 will be packaged in deluxe 3-d artwork.

Birds Birds Birds In the World is the first full length from the Japanese/Norweigan super-group The Birds. Comprised of Cotton Casino, The Acid Mothers Temple and Per Gisle Galaen of Sloburn/Del fame, The Birds are reminiscent of other Norwegian groups like Deathprod, Supersilent and Alog though their unmistakable and unpredictable meld of psychedelic melodies, guitar noise, Eno-esque synth dirge, musique concrete and rock sets them apart.

Birds Birds Birds In the World was produced by Kai Mikalsen of Sketch, Jazzkammer/Del member Lasse Marhaug and mastered by Supersilent/Deathprod producer Helge Sten. Artwork by the world famous graphic artist/designer toy guy Pete Fowler. 

The Birds formed before even playing a single note. Cotton Casino and Per Gisle Galåen had previously met during The Acid Mothers Temple's tours in Norway, which Per Gisle was promoting. The idea came to mind in the Spring of 2003. Sounds were sent from Osaka to Oslo, a tour of Japan was done in the Summer of 2003. More sounds were sent and a four week European tour was done in the Fall of 2003. Then there was silence and more recordings.

Using meticulous production and a complex arrangement involving tapes, synthesizers, organs, ukulele, percussion, guitar, and bass, The Birds create a unique sound and a comprehensively diverse album of psychedelic pop, Norwegian guitar noise and sound environments. Birds Birds Birds In the World is a wonderfully complete and diverse statement of eccentric contemporary sound.


1. Green To Me

2. Beethoven's Women

3. Fama Fama

4. In the Name of the River

5. Donkeys

6. Second Door

7. Human Play

8. Fireburner

View full details