Skip to product information
1 of 1

Julia Kent - Delay - CD

Julia Kent - Delay - CD

Regular price $12.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $12.99 USD
Sale Sold out

Julia Kent left Rasputina in 1999, after releasing two albums on Columbia Records, and shortly thereafter became a member of Antony and the Johnsons. She played on and contributed string arrangements to the group’s Mercury Prize-winning record I Am A Bird Now, and, as a Johnson, has toured Europe, North America, and Australia; played at Carnegie Hall and the Royal Albert Hall; and appeared on numerous television shows. In addition to her ongoing participation in Antony and the Johnsons, she also has performed and/or recorded with many other artists and ensembles, including the Angels Of Light, Burnt Sugar, Larsen, Angela McCluskey, Leona Naess, Teddy Thompson, Devendra Banhart, Mi and L’au, and Rufus Wainwright.

Her debut solo effort, Delay, is a CD of multitracked cello and found sounds. It was inspired by airports, by transitoriness, and by the private emotional worlds that we create amid the disorientations and disjunctions of travel. Delay was recorded over the course of a year (or so) at home in between touring and traveling. After so many years of playing with other people Julia felt that it was time to do something entirely on her own. As a result she is the sole composer/performer on all tracks. The title refers to both the effect, to traveling and to the fact that it took so long to record. It is also an homage to Arthur Russell's World of Echo – a masterpiece of (among other things) externalizing the intimate.


1. Untitled

2. Gardermoen

3. Untitled

4. Idlewild

5. Elmas

6. Untitled

7. Barajas

8. Untitled

9. Fontanarossa

10. Untitled  

11. Arlanda

12. Dorval

13. Venizélos

14. Untitled

15. Schiphol

16. Tempelhof  

17. Untitled

18. Malpensa

View full details