Skip to product information
1 of 1

Emily Jane White - Dark Undercoat - CD

Emily Jane White - Dark Undercoat - CD

Regular price $12.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $12.99 USD
Sale Sold out

Enormously urgent remaster, repackaged repress/reissue for this much buzzed about record that tragically went out of print just as demand was erupting. Includes lyrics & a bonus track.

Armed with little more than an acoustic guitar and her fragile alto, San Francisco folk singer/songwriter Emily Jane White offers complex tales of melancholy and isolation. While comparisons to contemporaries like Cat Power and Hope Sandoval are frequent, Emily's music owes a clear debt to classic female jazz and blues singers such a Billie Holiday. The lead track, Bessie Smith, from her debut Dark Undercoat is an homage to the influential legend.

Wild Tigers I Have Known, from Dark Undercoat, recently appeared on the soundtrack for the Cam Archer film of the same title (released on Durtro/Jnana). Rolling Stone recently placed Emily in their Top 5 Hot List in which they describe the aforementioned song as "melancholy as a rainbow glimpsed through the bars of a prison window."


1. Bessie Smith

2. Hole In the Middle  

3. Dark Undercoat

4. Dagger

5. Time On Your Side

6. The Demon

7. Sleeping Dead

8. Blue

9. Wild Tigers I Have Known

10. Two Shots To The Head

11. Robotic Arms


Billboard/All Music Guide



Fader article

Slant Magazine

"It's plenty tempting to name Cat Power as White's closest sonic contemporary, but for all her songwriting skill, Chan Marshall can't evoke the blunt isolation that makes it easy to imagine White singing solo in an empty country chapel at the end of a dirt road." ~ Spin

"Dark Undercoat's sparse tracks unfold at a reflective pace, with White's plaintive croon draped over minimal guitar, piano and percussion arrangements." ~ Rolling Stone

"Dark Undercoat is a slow stunner." ~ Venus Zine

View full details