Skip to product information
1 of 1

Henry Jacobs - Around the World With Henry Jacobs - 2CD

Henry Jacobs - Around the World With Henry Jacobs - 2CD

Regular price $12.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $12.99 USD
Sale Sold out

Absurd folklorist Henry Jacobs returns with a selection of rare interviews, odd loops, sales pitches, early synthesizer demos, an ether-infused evening, and more! Produced in San Francisco and New York City, Around the World With Henry Jacobs is a travelogue that continues the story begun with The Wide Weird World of Henry Jacobs, mixing archival material from the 1950s with recent improvisations by Jacobs. Guests include Stan Freberg and Dr. Irwin Corey, with Alan Watts returning for a visit, too.

Also included is a special bonus disc - First Night, one of the true gems from the collection. Recorded in February 1957 by Henry Jacobs on the opening night of the Poetry/Jazz Series at The Cellar in San Francisco,this unique document captures the first time Kenneth Rexroth and Lawrence Ferlinghetti read their poetry to jazz in this very intimate setting. In contrast to Fantasy Records' Poetry Readings in the Cellar, you feel yourself a part of the audience here, moments punctuated with a register ringing, muted conversations, laughter, and clinking glasses. Includes Rexroth reading "Between Myself And Death" and "She Is Away", and Ferlinghetti reading "The World is A Beautiful Place."


1. Intro

2. Persimmon

3. Boo Bams

4. Pitch

5. Objective

6. Brittanica

7. Chicks

8. Ocean

9. Playground

10. Microtonal

11. Abstract

12. John Gray, Poet

13. Sitting Here

14. Untitled

15. 12345

16. Hi Fi

17. Fall Guy

18. Donutty World

19. Secret of the Sounds

20. Words Is Words

21. Wrap Up


View full details