Skip to product information
1 of 1

Jozef Van Wissem - Nihil Obstat - LP/CD

Jozef Van Wissem - Nihil Obstat - LP/CD

Regular price $14.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $14.99 USD
Sale Sold out
* Warehouse find

Gorgeous new full length from Dutch lutenist Jozef Van Wissem, performed on Wissem's custom black lute built by Michael Schreiner.The CD version of Nihil Obstat (Nothing Hinders) inciludes an extended 11 minute version. LP pressed in an edition of 800.

Wissem's long form, graceful melodic lute layers, preceded by suspenseful deep bass movements, are transcendental and pastoral. Wissem's is a world where hypnotic minimalist figures are repeated to slow the act of listening.


1. How You Must Have Suffered

2. Apology

3. Where You Lived and What You Lived For

4. Nothings Stands Between Us

5. Whatever She Lacks She Turns To With Diligence

6. Patience In Suffering Is A Living Sacrifice


"You might expect this record to be one dark night of the soul, but it paradoxically includes some of Van Wissem's brightest music of recent times." ~ Dusted

"New classical lute music that sound as if it always existed, as if it has been studied and practiced and performed for ages." ~ Foxy Digitalis

View full details