Skip to product information
1 of 1

Marisa Anderson - Mercury CD

Marisa Anderson - Mercury CD

Regular price $9.00 USD
Regular price Sale price $9.00 USD
Sale Sold out

CD version of the 2009 Mississippi Records release. Highly recommended to followers of the Blackshaw/Wissem line of acoustic instrumental composition that runs through the Imprec catalog.

From the original notes:

"Portland guitar virtuoso Marisa Anderson is back with a new set of home recorded instrumentals. This time around we find Marisa exploring structures more based on the Appalachian folk tradition. The bluesy cadences of Marisa's other previous release - Golden Hour - are still there but more in an emotional sense than a structural. It's rare to find a record that has just one instrument with no vocals that can achieve real emotional communication - but here 'tis. Marisa thoughtfully composed & recorded this LP over the course of the last two years. It was worth the wait."


1. The New Country

2. Deep Gap

3. Down Off the Mountain

4. Old Names

5. Austin, Eureka and Ely

6. Trinity

7. Mojave

8. Furnace Creek

9. Embudo

10. Mesquite Shade

11. Happy Camp

12. Galax

13. Sinks and Rises

14. Hesitation Theme and Variation Blues

15. Colfax

16. Red Sky


"When I listen to Marisa Anderson's solo guitar music, I think of Sun Ra's poem about 'Tone Scientists.' It wasn't enough for Ra that his musicians hit the notes; he wanted them to play with precision, discipline, and an awareness of tone and architecture. Anderson, who's based in Portland, Oregon, has paid her dues and done her research: she played in country, circus, and jazz bands before applying her acumen to a series of solo instrumental records for acoustic and electric guitar and lap steel. On her latest LP, Traditional and Public Domain Songs (Grapefruit), her performances of chestnuts such as "'Just a Closer Walk With Thee' and 'Farther Along' are structurally sound and patiently paced, allowing the audience to soak in her waves of Pops Staples-style reverb and be hypnotized by her Elizabeth Cotton-inspired fingerpicking. In concert, Anderson keeps her verbal commentary to a minimum, instead telling a story with her sequencing of material - usually a mix of originals (often named after natural phenomena) and vintage tunes steeped in themes of community and spirituality. Anderson opens for local instrumental quartet Brokeback, which will play new material and debut a modified lineup—Jim Elkington is taking over from the departing Chris Hansen on guitar, and Areif Sless-Kitain is stepping in to fill Elkington's spot behind the drums." ~  Bill Meyer, Chicago Reader

View full details