Skip to product information
1 of 1

Jeff Burch - Self-Titled - CD

Jeff Burch - Self-Titled - CD

Regular price $11.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $11.99 USD
Sale Sold out

Jeff Burch's first solo full-length album is comprised of two expansive instrumental compositions anchored by beautiful, old acoustic guitars and a modular synthesizer.

He hoists his sounds up through the remnants of the 60s downtown drone spirit, through the fetid fruits of post-war central Europe and the scattered output of present-day suburban outsiders. The arrangements shift gracefully from floods of lush string texture to driving guitar and drum motif; from ebbs of brass and deep electric sine wave to thick hazes of clanging din and steely whine.

Originally from the crystalline shores of northern New Zealand, Jeff now resides in New York City's torrid Lower East Side. Head of imprint The Spring Press, he has also founded numerous groups in both New Zealand and Australia.

Tres Warren (Psychic Ills, Compound Eye, Messages): electric guitar

Marcus Whale: tenor saxophone

Stephen James (Songs, Rand and Holland): percussion.

Recorded at Classicx, Melbourne & Henry Street Studios, New York City by Casey Rice (Tortoise, Dirty Three) and Jamie Kennedy (Surf City), respectively. Mastered by Patrick Klem (Sonic Youth, Six Organs of Admittance, The Dead C) at Klemflastic Sound, Phoenix. Composed, recorded, and mixed between 2010 and 2012.

Cover photographs by iconic New York artist Roni Horn; Designed by Casey Rice.

View full details