Skip to product information
1 of 1

Diane Cluck - Macy's Day Bird/Black With Green Leaves - 2CD

Diane Cluck - Macy's Day Bird/Black With Green Leaves - 2CD

Regular price $11.99 USD
Regular price Sale price $11.99 USD
Sale Sold out

This double CD is housed in a deluxe gatefold cardboard sleeve of the highest quality, priced modestly as a single CD.

This Important release pairs Diane Cluck's 2nd full length album, Macy's Day Bird, with the EP, Black With Green Leaves. Both were originally released by Diane in elaborate tiny handmade editions. These are arguably Diane's most compelling, immediate and striking records, and it was these two recordings that originally caught the ear of Important Records in 2001.

Macy's Day Bird/Black With Green Leaves is highly recommended to Diane's many new fans who picked up on her after the release of Oh Vanille/Ova Nil in 2005 [named No. 2 US underground album of 2005 by the UK's Mojo Magazine]. The attentive listener will find her hauntingly clear voice weaving melodies of love, pain and city life through sparse arrangements of piano, acoustic guitar and harmonium. This material is newly restored/mastered by James Fei.

Diane has toured Europe and the United States extensively in the last few years, appearing alongside Iron & Wine, Vertiver, Joanna Newsom, Six Organs Of Admittance, White Magic, Matt Valentine, CocoRosie, Vashti Bunyan and many more on the 2004 Golden Apples Of The Sun compilation in Arthur Magazine (an "essential" collection according to Mojo Magazine). Diane has played with Cocorosie, Devendra Banhart, Genesis P-Orridge, Kimya Dawson, Herman-Dune, Barry Bliss, Jeffrey Lewis and many more. 

"i made these albums a few years ago for myself and friends about myself and friends.

to me they're total fidelity recordings-- true documents of how i felt / what i experienced

in a particular time and place there. have been suggestions that i rerecord

t make the songs sound some version of more appealing...

but i'd rather keep flowing / playing in the moment things come out right the first time

even if they are hard to look at / hear in that form those tend to be the forms

which teach me the most about myself / the world...don't apologize for yrself !

be a whatever...

these songs were important for me to make & record if they're useful / helpful to other people

i'm glad about that !" - Diane Cluck


Disc 1:

1. Untitled

2. Save Me

3. God Made It Rain

4. Heat From Every Corner

5. Hover Not

6. Macy's Day Bird

7. Untitled

8. A Beast In a Barn

9. Yatzee Dice

10. I Liked You As Soon As I Saw You

11. Battlefield Nurse

12. Impatient Sun

13. Untitled

Disc 2:

1. Crash Through the Half-Light

2. Casting About

3. Pathway To Eden

4. I'm Yr Here-I-Am

5. Focus On Their Eyes

6. The Party Tonight


View full details